Fridays on my mind

Well it’s Friday folks, but before you relax and take another sip of that latte there’s something important you need to know…

THIS is no ordinary Friday.

Oh no my friends, because THIS Friday marks the start of something new.

I’ve been thinking for a while the average Friday is perfectly pleasant, it could do with a little improvement.

A little pizazz.

A little… inappropriate, really!

The answer to this dilemma had eluded me until last week when I happened to be driving in an area of Brisbane I was unfamiliar with.

I guess this must have made me more aware of my surroundings than I usually am, because suddenly inappropriate things started jumping out at me from EVERYWHERE!

Shop names, signs, number plates, car stickers – all gloriously and wonderfully bizarre. It was then that I knew EXACTLY what Friday’s needed to achieve their true potential.

So without further ado I’d like to introduce you to the solution…

What the Fuck Friday-2

What exactly is “What the f#%? Friday”?

A celebration of the inappropriate, the ridiculous and the just plain bonkers! This is going to be a regular post (hopefully) and I’d like as many of you to join in as possible.

You see it every where – questionable numberplates, suburb names that suggest the locals are always high, translations into English that have gone terribly wrong, weird vegetables, strange knick-knacks. The list is endless.

Basically if you see anything, ANYTHING that makes you stop for a second and go “What the F#%?” then that’s what we’re after. If it makes you piss yourself laughing, even better.

Why Friday…?

Everyone likes a bit of distraction at the end of the week! Shockingly, there are some employees out there that actually use the fact that it’s Friday to do less work than usual.

Although not me obviously…

Also I’d like to do a shout out to any colleagues of mine who may be reading this.

The best colleagues a girl could… aahh who am I kidding? They work with me day in day out – they are better placed than anyone to know exactly what I’m like, and no amount of disclaimers will convince them otherwise!

(besides… those in glass houses etc.)

OK I’m in! How do I get started?

1. Always be on the look out for the “random” in the world. Think you won’t find any? Believe me once you start looking that shit is every-where!

2. Take a quick snap on your smart-device *See the helpful diagram above for technique 😉

3. Post that pic on The Very Inappropriate Blog Facebook Page ASAP!

No passing GO or collecting $200 you hear?

NOTE: If you’re in a shop or there are people around be polite and be respectful with your photo-taking. We are having a bit of fun but we certainly don’t want to be assholes!

Ok so now you know what to do I want to see all the bizarre shit YOU can find on your travels!

In the meantime here are a few of my recent favourites…

This is the pic responsible for my Friday epiphany!

This is the pic responsible for my Friday epiphany!

Nope not even a little bit

Nope not even a little bit

It never ceases to amaze me what people will put on number plates.

It never ceases to amaze me what people will put on number plates.

Happy Friday peeps!

22 comments on “Fridays on my mind

  1. Ness says:

    So I seriously need to get me a proper phone devince thingy bob and then actually learn how to use the bloody thing or I can never join in..*sobs*

    I cannot believe those pics. Too funny.

  2. Oculus Mundi says:

    Great idea. Not on Facebook, but if I come across anything WTF Friday worthy I will tweet it or email it or whatever 🙂

    • Rachel says:

      Thanks Al. I’d forgotten that some of my lovely readers are allergic to Facebook! Marti from Chronicles of Melonhalla has suggested tweeting pics under the hash tag of #WTFfriday. I think this is an awesome idea and will do an update on this post later to let everyone know.

  3. Kathy says:

    Great idea – I know when we’ve been in China we’ve come across some hugely funnny translations, but for the life of me I can’t think of any now of course! But I will be on the look-out and as you say, once you start looking things start jumping out in front of you.

    • Rachel says:

      Hi Kathy! Yes some if those translations can be hysterical. I went to Japan as a teenager and still remember a softdrink vending machines with things like “friendly drinking time with flavour” written on them. Looking forward to seeing any of the random stuff you come across xx

  4. Marti says:

    Also not on Facebook but you are soooo right- this shit is everywhere! I’ll pop mine on Twitter with a #WFTfriday

    • Rachel says:

      Great idea Marti. As you can see in my response to oculus mundi I am officially adopting your hash tag suggestion! I started out as a Facebook user long before I was on twitter and so forget that not everyone likes it. So thanks heaps for this – I’ll do an update soon announcing it xx

  5. Me says:

    LOL – my boss has a Porsche Cayenne and his number plate is PORSSH – drives me nuts !!!
    Great idea – will have to keep an eye out for future pics/comments to add in coming weeks.
    Have a great weekend !
    Me

    • Rachel says:

      Hi Me (is that what you like to be called? I searched your blog but couldn’t find your name!)

      Can you do me a huge favour… PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE see if you can get a pic of your boss’s numberplate and post it on my Facebook or tweet it under #WTFfriday? It can be friends with the Cayenne pic lol.

      Understand if you can’t but would really love to see it 😉 If not then I’m definitely looking forward to seeing pics of any other WTF stuff you can find – Rach xx

  6. Kim says:

    HA love me a WTF! I did a whole WTF post meself not too long ago (sorry to do a link on you – very rude – but I need you to see this ‘Alan’ clip again because it happened in my living room IN REAL LIFE! If that’s not WTF I don’t know what is. http://www.fff.net.au/sloppy-saturday-roundup-wtf/ I’ll be keeping a keen eye peeled for Facebook fodder. Happy Friday! xx

    • Rachel says:

      Alan = Comedy GOLD. You can’t watch that too many times, its not possible! Would have been hilarious to see it re-enacted by your kid especially if she had no idea what she was doing!

      Also I’m counting on you for WTF contributions. I bet you’ve got a pretty keen eye for the ridiculous and that’s exactly what we need 🙂

  7. I swear, when it comes to number plates people are just tosser! I see so many shit ones. This is a fabulous idea and I will now be on the lookout!

  8. Oooo check this post out, of a silly sign I saw … http://redlandcityliving.com/silly-signs/

  9. becc03 says:

    I love this idea and had a bit of a chuckle at the Cayenne number plate, now that is funny.
    Thank you for the laugh again 🙂
    Becc @ Take Charge Now

  10. abutcherswife says:

    This is a great idea for a weekly post. Everyone needs a giggle.

    • Rachel says:

      Excellent. You’re another one (like Miss Kim) who I reckon would have a great eye for the ridiculous. Maybe even get the hubby to join in since I now know he’s not afraid to stop the car to capture a good WTF when he sees one 🙂

  11. robomum says:

    Personalised number plates always make me wonder…. Validation much?

  12. mogletho says:

    Great idea…I look forward to seeing them!

  13. I must try and keep a note of silly crap I see and put some up!!! Just remind us closer to Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

