Cooler Confidential

image

Hello and welcome to my very exciting first post! Exciting for me obviously, I realise that anyone else who reads this will probably want to hold off on the excitement until they’ve read more than the first line.

I decided to include this photo of me for two reasons. Firstly, I think it’s always nice to be able to put a face to a name when meeting new people. And secondly, as you will no doubt have noticed, I am enjoying possibly the MOST inappropriate drink of all time.

No… your eyes did not deceive you. It is indeed a West Coast Cooler. And yes they do still make them – you can find them in most bottle shops shunted to the outer reaches of the alcopop section. Looking slightly sheepish in the company of intimidating Smirnoff mixes and elegant Midori concoctions. But still, defiantly, there in all their 80’s throw back glory.

And for any younger readers who are still trying to work out what I’m on about – this is what ladies drank the FIRST time high-waisted jeans were in fashion.

In my defence I have to say that West Coast is not my usual tipple of choice – in fact I probably have them about once a year. (As I wrote that last line I thought I heard a very faint chorus of “yeah, right” echo through the night).

So why tonight? It could be because I’m feeling a little hung-over from my work Christmas party yesterday, and their sickly-sweetness makes them a non-challenging choice.

But the main reason is that I couldn’t think of a better way to christen this very innappropriate blog than with the mother of all inappropriate drinks.

13 comments on “Cooler Confidential

  1. Marti says:

    They certainly do still make them… they are hiding in the retro section! I’m impressed that you are loud and proud in your love of the westie… nothing wrong with a cardonay either lovey!

    • Rachel says:

      Thanks Marti! I don’t have them often but do still enjoy the odd one when I feel like an undemanding drink. Thanks for reading my first post – I think you might be the only one who has (apart from family) πŸ™‚

  2. LOL I have a West Coast Cooler that has been sitting at the back of the fridge since Christmas. I just can’t bring myself to go there. I am afraid that with the first sip I’ll be back in my Wham “Choose Life” T-shirt, Kylie Minogue Bubble skirt , teased BIG hair a’la Demi Moore in St Elmos Fire and dreaming about the lead singer of Wa Wa Nee .
    I might crack it tonight just for fun πŸ™‚
    xxx
    Lisa – Button Brain

  3. robomum says:

    I haven’t had one of those for years but today is warm and now you’ve put the thought in my head… My first ever tipple was Summer Wine. Remember that one? Love you hard. X

  4. katyberry says:

    Heh! Heh! Your “voice” hasn’t changed at all. Love the first post. But no, I will not be downing WC Coolers with you. I have left that time WAY behind me.

  5. The Tunnel says:

    I was blessed (or cursed) to come of drinking age during what historians now call The Summer of Cooler. Cooler mania was at its peak, with the drive-through bottle shops of Queensland piled high with towers of West Coast Cooler, Island Cooler, the even cheaper cooler rip-offs (!) and – for the discerning tippler – the four-litre Tropicana cask.

    But the Summer couldn’t last forever. I think it was Nikov (casked vodka and orange juice, though actually mostly kiwifruit juice) that was my first taste of The End. Sure enough, it is now only in the dark recesses of our wine halls and in the fridge of your house that West Coast – the cooler that would not die – can be found.

    As a veteran of The Summer of Cooler, I salute you.

  6. Tegan says:

    It could be worse…it could be passion pop. Glad to see that you are still being wildly inappropriate!

  7. Ness says:

    Love it. I used to drink this really sickly sweet, disgusting Tyrell’s Wine called Blanquet. It was truly revolting. My best friend and I were called The Blanquet Twins. Classy.

  8. We had something call Miami Wine Coolers in NZ, the same thing – LOVED stealing mums as a kid! Love that you were hungover writing this – glad I found you πŸ™‚ xx

  9. I totally want a West Coast Cooler now…. memories of misspent teenage years πŸ™‚

  10. I love it – i love that your first post is so you. Confident and funny, as always. Fantastic first post Rachel!

  11. What a great first post Rachel. West Coast Cooler eh? What can I say… It brings back the kind of memories I would rather not remember. And that’s just the jeans!

  12. Veggie Mama says:

    They are delicious!

Leave a Reply

